University Honors CII Investigators at Celebration of Faculty Excellence

President James Ramsey and Provost Shirley Willihnganz recently honored faculty for their scholarship, research, creative activity and teaching at the annual Celebration of Faculty Excellence.

They presented the President’s Distinguished Faculty Awards, the President’s Multicultural Teaching Award and the Community Engagement Award. They also honored new endowed faculty and a new university scholar and faculty and staff whose work has resulted in U.S. patents, licenses or options.

Distinguished Faculty Awards

The president’s office gives multiple Distinguished Faculty Award in three categories. Winners receive a medallion and a check for $1,000. They will also be featured on campus banners later this year.

The longstanding campus event took place Sept. 11 during State of the University Week. Among the many winners were the CII’s own Drs. James Hoying, Amanda Jo LeBlanc and Stuart K. Williams, School of Medicine.  Their recognition stems from an exclusive license with Tissue Genesis, Inc. for a biocompatible patch incorporating a three-dimensional tissue construct with adipose-derived stem cells. When applied to a damaged heart, the patch preserves cardiac structure and function.

We send congratulation to all of the winners.

To find out more information regarding this wonderful event please visit: